A Mother’s Concern

The adage that you never stop worrying about your children is so true. It doesn’t matter how old they are. You hope, wish and pray that they will always be safe and happy.

I have found myself, over the last few weeks, worrying (more than usual) about my daughter, Sarah, who is living in Israel.  She is a photographer and has done some wonderful work while she has been there.

My daughter, Sarah.

My daughter, Sarah.

But I am torn — as the most recent conflict has escalated, part of me would like Sarah to come home and get out of harm’s way.  Another part of me is proud of her commitment to Israel.

We have spoken with her more frequently over the last several weeks and Sarah tells us she is worried when the sirens go off. She runs to the closest shelter and is relieved when all clear is sounded. My husband and I feel the same way.

While my days are filled with responsibilities associated with my position as an Assemblymember, my thoughts and prayers are with my daughter and the State of Israel.

Leave a Reply

