Running and Winning

Sharing some thoughts with New Rochelle's Sumanthy Kumar.

Sharing some thoughts with New Rochelle’s Sumanthy Kumar.

I had the opportunity to spend much of the day today with a group of remarkable young women at the YWCA in White Plains. We were all gathered for the “Running and Winning” event, a program sponsored by the League of Women Voters of Westchester County, The Association of American University Women and YWCA of White Plains and Central Westchester.

Nearly three dozen students from 13 area high schools (including three in my district) attended. They got to know me and more than a dozen of my colleagues from state and local government. It proved to be a magnificent event for many reasons. I love helping empower young women and encouraging them to reach their potential. While the number of women in local, state and federal government has been on the increase we’re still not on equal footing with our male counterparts in terms of numbers.

Events like this one will hopefully plant the seeds of getting involved in a life of public service. I shared stories with these young ladies, as did my colleagues, about my life and my career. The young ladies had many excellent questions, ones that afforded me an opportunity to discuss my journey and how I have made it.

It’s always interesting to me to see how young women view what I do for a living and whether or not they think they are capable of holding office. Well, based on what I saw and heard today, these young ladies certainly have a bright future.

I had students from several area schools come to Albany to visit with me earlier this week and shadow me for a day to see what it was like on the Assembly floor. That, combined with today’s event, has left me with a good feeling about the future of our local and state government. These kids are our future – yes I know that sounds a little corny – and this week I got a glimpse into what should be a very bright future.

Leave a Reply

